Rainbow Six Siege reveals its new season, North Star

Ubisoft have revealed the second season for Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six Siege Year 6, named North Star. In this new season, the update will bring a host of new content, including a new Operator, Thunderbird, an entirely reworked Favela map, and much more.

North Star – New Operator, Thunderbird

In North Star, players can take control of a brand-new Defender: Thunderbird. She can deploy a Kóna Healing Station, which heals any player – ally or enemy – close to this device, even if they are downed. Thunderbird is a low armor, high-speed operator, equipped with a SPEAR .308 or SPAS-15 as primary weapon, and BEARING 9 or Q-929 as a secondary weapon.

Take a peek at her gameplay mechanics below:

North Star – Additional Updates

The new season also introduces a reimagined Favela map with rooms, better map overview and improved navigation. These changes will improve readability, making sure players always know where they are and where they are going when playing on Favela.

On Test Servers, two new features will be tested: a revamped armor system and activities after death. Players’ armor will be converted to additional health so they have better visibility on their armor’s impact. Additionally, players will have new activities after death, with Attackers being able to control their own drones while some Defenders will be able to use their gadgets after their death (including Maestro, Echo or Mozzie).

Additional updates coming with North Star include:

  • Scoreboard 2.0
  • New corpse icons
  • Bullet holes fix
  • Operator balancing (Melusi, Mira, and Maestro tweaks and Gas Propagation rework)

The North Star update will be made available on the test servers starting May 25, but the official launch date has yet to be announced. As for future updates, fans have a lot to look forward to in Year 6, including a Resident Evil crossover.

Rainbow Six Siege is now available on the PS4, PS5, Xbox One, Xbox Series, and PC.

Leave a comment

Tooltip Text