World Of Warcraft: Dragonflight Is The MMO’s Latest Expansion

Blizzard has announced the latest expansion for World of Warcraft during a recent livestream that also saw the announcement of Wrath of The Lich King coming to WoW Classic.

Entitled Dragonflight, this expansion will see the players take to the skies with a new feature called Dragonriding, which is a new mount system that lets the players customize their dragons and even gain new abilities the more they play through the expansion.

The expansion will also update the level cap to 70 and will feature WoW’s first race-class combo – The Dracthyr Evoker. Dracthyr can switch between their human and dragon forms and can take the side of either Alliance or Horde.

You can view the cinematic trailer below:

World of Warcraft: Dragonflight Features

You can check out an overview of the features below:

Discover The Dragon Isles

The dragonflights of Azeroth have returned, called upon to defend their ancestral home, the Dragon Isles. Surging with elemental magic and the life energies of Azeroth, the Isles are awakening once more, and it’s up to you to explore their primordial wonder and discover long-forgotten secrets.

New Playable Race and Class – Dracthyr Evoker

Draconic Heritage – Dracthyr Evokers freely switch between two customizable forms—choosing between a humanoid visage, and a fearsome draconic form to battle foes and overcome obstacles.

Choose Your Allegiance – Dracthyr Evokers seek to forge their own path in Azeroth, and willingly fight for the Horde or the Alliance.

Intro Experience – Delve into the story of the Dracthyr in a brand-new starting experience and learn how to use your new abilities before venturing forth.

Specializations – Dracthyr Evokers can fight from mid-range with claws and fiery breath attacks (Devastation) or draw upon the life-giving magic of renewal to bolster their allies (Preservation).

Empowered Abilities – Dracthyr Evokers can empower their draconic abilities through magic. Charge-up your attacks and unleash them at the right moment to maximize their effects.

Become a Dragonrider

Master the art of Dragonriding, a new form of aerial movement. Explore the land and obtain four new Dragon Isles Drakes—unique, customizable mounts that can be truly made your own. With millions of possible combinations to choose from, no two Drakes are the same.

The Dragon Isles

The Dragon Isles are the ancestral home of the dragonflights of Azeroth. When the world was broke apart in the Great Sundering, magic drained away and the land went dormant. As the Dragon Isles awaken, so too do old feuds and long-dormant threats.

New HUD Interface

We’re revamping WoW’s HUD UI from the ground up. The new edit mode feature allows players to move, tweak, and personalize UI elements like never before, while still retaining a familiar look and feel.

New Talent System

Gain talent points with each level-up and spend them in two distinct talent trees. Class talent trees feature utility skills for your class, while Specialization trees boost your offensive or healing powers.

Professions and Crafting

Become a Dragon Isles artisan and fulfill crafting orders for your realm. Hunt down rare ingredients and create ever more wondrous items as you unlock specializations for your profession.

New Level Cap

Ascend to new heights of power as you explore the Dragon Isles, earning new talents every step of the way to level 70.

New Raid

Venture into the ancient prison of the Primal Incarnates before their malevolent power can be unleashed against the Dragon Aspects.

New Dungeons

Fight to reclaim Neltharus, stronghold of the black dragonflight, explore previously unknown chambers of Uldaman, defend the Life Pools of the red dragonflight, and more!

No release date was specified for the new expansion, so we’ll have to wait for further updates about this. In the mean time, players can enjoy the current Shadowlands expansion as it brings this episode to a close.

Leave a comment

Tooltip Text